Touré and Zhao re-elected to ITU

Dr Hamadoun Touré of Mali has been re-elected as secretary-general of ITU for a second four-year term, while Houlin Zhao of China re-elected deputy secretary-general
Touré, who was first elected to the post of ITU secretary-general in 2006, said he will "put a special emphasis on broadband access as well as continuing to ensure that cybersecurity is high on everyone's agenda." 
He has also pledged to ensure that small island developing states and land-locked countries get special attention.
Separately, François Rancy of France and Brahima Sanou of Burkina Faso are elected as new directors of ITU’s radiocommunication and telecommunication development bureaux.
Rancy will help manage the World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC) scheduled for 2012. The conference will tackle issues including a review of the international framework for radiocommunication and the identification of appropriate mechanisms to address digital dividend.
Sanou pledged to maintain the team spirit that has characterized the operation of BDT and underlined his commitment to implement the Hyderabad Action Plan adopted recently by the World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC).
Malcolm Johnson of UK is re-elected as director of the telecommunication standardization bureau for another four-year term.