Tier 2 carrier Cellular South has joined a bipartisan coalition in Mississippi to support a bill that would restrict cell phone texting while driving by teenagers.
The ban, which is being led by a coalition of state senators, Cellular South and the Mississippi Department of Public Safety Commissioner Steve Simpson, prohibits 15- and 16-year olds with drivers licenses or temporary learning and driving permits from texting while driving. Violators could be fined up to $500 for each infraction and up to $1,000 if the driver is involved in an accident while texting on the cell phone. Nine states already prohibit teens from texting while driving and another seven states have a text messaging ban for drivers of all ages.
- see this article
Cellular South will pay customers to switch carriers