EU sets standard for WiFi

The European Union has decided to create a common standard for all 25 member countries. The European Commission announced that all member states have to make two frequency bands -- 5159-5350 MHz and 5470-5725 MHz -- available for WiFi services starting November 1 this year. The creation of an EU-wide WiFi standard is designed to help the technology grow and to help alleviate congestion in the 2.4 Ghz version of the technology. There are currently 25 million WiFi users in Western Europe with experts predicting 500 million in the next three years.

For more on the new EU WiFi standard:
- see this story from Softpedia

Sponsored by ADI

What if we were never truly alone? Our next-gen communications technology can help people in even the most remote places stay connected.

What if there were no ocean, desert, mountain or event that could ever keep us from telling our stories, sharing discoveries or asking for help? ADI’s next-gen communications technology could keep all of us connected.

Suggested Articles

AT&T has shifted its Cricket prepaid brand to a 100% authorized retailer model, according to Wave7 Research.

The FCC decided to extend the timeline for responding to Huawei's application for review until December 11.

All operators are trying to understand the intersection between their networks and hyperscale networks. But who gets the lion's share of the revenue?