Sprint Nextel makes two changes to its board

Sprint Nextel announced two changes to its board of directors Friday, naming Sven-Christer Nilsson to the board and announcing the resignation of Ralph Whitworth from the board.

Nilsson was the CEO of the Ericsson Group from 1998 to 1999 and has been in the industry for more than 30 years. He will be on the board until the 2009 annual meeting, when he will be nominated for re-election by shareholders. Whitworth, the founder and principal of Relational Investors, had joined the board in February.

The moves come just ahead of a Federal Communications Commission vote on Nov. 4 on the proposed Sprint-Clearwire merger to create the new Clearwire.

For more:
- see this release

Related Articles:
Sprint board member resigns
Sprint, Clearwire ponder options